Beth Wester Ross

By bethceol

I had a lovely phone call today; a belated "Happy Birthday" from my penpal, Frances. She and I have been writing to each other for 44 years - ye gods! Frances was born and brought up in Kingston, Jamaica, and this is when we started our penpal relationship. I remember at school signing up for a penpal via an organisation (I think) in Helsinki. We were then sent the name and address of a penpal, but were also told that our names would also be passed on to others in other countries. Frnaces was one of those people.
We have met 3 times, and each time this has been in this country when she has visited her relatives in England. Now, she is living with her family in Miami, and one of these days I shall visit her on her home turf.
We were on the phone for about 3/4 of an hour, and I felt that she was just down the road, and that we should probably meet for a drink sometime soon. She is hoping to come over in the Autumn, and I would love to see her again.

While we were on the phone, my neighbour Peter walked passed, shouting something to me. I asked Fran to hang on, and Peter told me that he had sighted killer whales along the coast at the Lighthouse. Not long after this, Pat came by and asked if I fancied some whale hunting. We went along to the lighthouse, but had no luck spotting the whales. However, it was a lovely run, and I had forgotten how lovely the lighthouse is, especially in the sun.

We also passed my peat bank, and I am annoyed I haven't brought all the peat down yet; I must do this before Christine comes up in July. I remember 2 years ago when she had to help me get the peat down - I don't think she has ever forgiven me!

I hope you spot Dimairt in the foreground; he is still doing very well at 14, and he enjoyed his wee trip to his old stomping ground.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.