Rant

I received the subject of this rant today. At the beginning of September, I went to the Post Office with a condolence card for Bob's sister, who had just lost her husband; Lillian lives in the USA, and I absolutely hate the new system we have for working out postage. It is no longer a simple matter of weight, but now weight AND size which determine the correct postage. I therefore get everything checked at the counter.
Whether the PO man didn't notice that the letter was for the States, or he was just careless, I don't know. I had many more letters and packages to post so the total amount included this letter.
It has been returned to me because of insufficient postage.

1. Even if it does have insufficient postage, is it not usually delivered, and then the recipient has to cough up? I have certainly done so on a few occasions.
2. I know that I had it checked at the Post Office; I do not, however, have the proof - thrown in the bin weeks ago.
3. Where has it been sitting for TWO MONTHS?
4. In the meantime, this lady is sitting thinking that I didn't care enough to post one measly card off to her.
5. Royal Mail web site - how easy is it to complain? At first glance, a nightmare. But I shall let you know if I manage to wade through the red tape. Should I phone? I hate complaining to these poor souls on the other end of the line. It's not their fault.
6. Can't wait till Christmas card sending time.........
7. Rant over.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.