My life fragments 2023

By MrsLinda

People of Palmyra

I must post one more ThrowBackThursday blip dedicated this time to Palmyra people. This Bedouin gentleman took great care of us and drove us to the Tower of Elahbel dating from 103 AD and other Palmyra tombs in his beloved Zastava car. He turned me into a Beduin lady and offered my husband to trade me for hundreds of camels ;-)

I have just learnt from my Syrian friends the most prominent and preserved tombs including this one in the photo were destroyed last week. There's not much left of Palmyra.

I think of these people very often these days. They were living quiet simple lives earning some extra money on the handful of tourist who came to visit. Now they are under those bastards' rule or living in some refugee camps just across the Syrian border or on their way to Europe...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.