The Secret Orangery

I went to John Lewis in Welwyn Garden City today for the first time in ages. Afterwards I decided to check out Panshanger Park. I've never been before. I parked in Thieves Lane and walked into the woods. Very few people about. I asked the three that I met if they knew where the derelict orangery was. Even though they were regular visitors they'd never heard of it.

After passing a sign saying "Danger Of Death Quicksand" I found three men whittling wood in a shed. I asked them about the orangery and they were reticent. Eventually one offered to take me to it in his truck. It is hidden from view in the woods close to the site where a grand house built in 1806 once stood. 

I loved exploring completely on my own. My whole body is still tingling from nettle stings. I walked back along the deserted valley where there are some magnificent oak trees including the mighty Panshanger Oak which it is believed was planted by Elizabeth I.

Lafarge, which owns this site, is gradually opening it up to the public. Glad I got to experience it before it gets the theme park treatment.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.