Who's the BIGGEST Bunny?

First off, this is not my rabbit! This is a bunny that I met on my morning visit to the Arboretum. I was walking through the pollinator gardens, trying to take a few photos of the goldfinches that were preceding me through the gardens.

And I suddenly saw a small, brown, furry creature just sitting in the middle of the path, completely unafraid of me! A rabbit! In fact, it looked sort of sleepy. But then it suddenly came awake, and realized that there were snacks everywhere, even right over its head!

It stood up on its back feet to enjoy the greens - and my goodness, what a BIG bunny!? I just had to stop and ask, "Who's the BIGGEST bunny?!" (Hmm, and I wondered - am I the only person besides my husband who talks to rabbits?) And then it went back down onto all fours.

At that point, a tiny gray creature scurried past the rabbit. A rodent of some kind. What could it be!?  I snapped a quick shot of the rabbit, looking just a bit startled, with the tiny gray critter whizzing past it! (That photo can be viewed in the extra photos area.)

And then the tiny gray thing ran STRAIGHT AT MY FEET! I tried to get a photo but all I got was a shot of blurry grass. (I guess I wasn't quite as composed as I thought I'd be. Let's have somebody fling a wee rodent at YOUR feet first thing in the morning before you've had your second cup of coffee and see how you respond!)

Upon arriving at my office, I looked it up online, and it turns out the tiny gray creature was probably a shrew. A friend told me that shrews are fast-moving, ferocious predators, eating many insects and other critters smaller than themselves. I guess I was fortunate that I was big enough not to be eaten by it. Who would want to become a shrew's breakfast!? Not me!

In honor of this very BIG bunny, I wanted to pick a song with the word Big in it. And so here is a favorite: Fleetwood Mac, with Big Love.

P.S. I'm adding this after making the original post. It came to mind that this is not the FIRST time that poor, mild-mannered rabbits have been harassed by smaller creatures at the Arboretum. Here's a link to another blip where you will see a chipmunk just about to bite a bunny on its posterior! I'm not making this up!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.