The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Scabeeous

I took the afternoon off today, and Gus and I spent a happy couple of hours roaming over Heathwaite trying to find the field gentians.  They are late season flowers, but of them I found no sign.  Instead we have the much commoner, but no less attractive small scabious with attendant bumblebee.

It's late Summer, and not much is still in flower, and what there is, like this scabious, is looking a bit worn.  The bee was having a senior moment, catatonic and immobile while I changed the lens; then waking suddenly and getting back to work just as I focussed in.  It put me in mind of Dr Oliver Sachs - who died this week - and his treatment of encephalitis victims who had been immobile for decades - described in his book 'Awakenings'.  It is worth listening on IPlayer to him in the episode of Desert Island Discs, broadcast again this week to mark his passing.  

In the evening, we had a brief but long overdue blipmeet with Jeannie and the Professor (it somehow doesn't sound right saying I met GOD).  They have been frequent visitors to Arnside over the years, though less so recently, and our paths had not quite connected until today.  I didn't want to miss this opportunity, and it was worth the wait.  Gus was on his very best behaviour, exercising his canine charm as he always does.  He made two new friends, and so did we.  There was no Arnside sunset spectacular, and as conversation flowed, we took no photos, but that was just fine. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.