beyond belief

By jandeblipper

Cobble Hill

This evening I drove to the village of Cobble Hill. I knew of an old building that was formerly Scales Bakery. When I attended George Bonner Middle School, a Scales was in my class. And George Bonner operated a hardware store in the village.

When I arrived on Garland Street, I saw that the building was still intact but weathered. The bakery name had faded, and down the street stood a faded 1961 Pontiac Catalina.

The bakery was in the building with the false front as seen behind the car. I have been in the house when a computer technician lived there in the nineties.

"Cobble Hill is a small community on Vancouver Island, British Columbia, Canada. It is located approximately 45 kilometres (28 mi) north of Victoria in the Cowichan Valley Regional District, and is known for its agricultural surroundings, and for Cobble Hill itself, which gave the village its name. According to the 2006 census, there are 1,775 people living in Cobble Hill." (Wikipedia)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.