Meanwhile, at the coast..

By meancoast

It's not often.......

......that you can put a precise date and an almost exact time on a pic almost 57 years old but for this one I can.....it was shortly before 3.55pm on the 16th October 1958, the place was Warwick St in Carlisle and I was probably singing to the Queen and Prince Phillip (along with hundreds of other snotty schoolkids, it wasn't a solo performance;-)) at the Market Hall around the corner at the time.....that's our house on the far right and I can see my Ma (which makes this her 3rd appearance on blip this week!), my Grandma and my Great Aunty Sally propping up the wall and not mixing with the huddled common masses on the pavement outside (I'm surprised they left the gate open). The occasion was Carlisle's Octocentenary (I've still got the commemorative book that was given out wholesale somewhere.....though I can't say I've ever actually read it!) and the OCD timings came from here.......oh, and I might even be in this British Pathe newsreel for all I know.....somewhere......

Just out of interest, this is the first time I haven't posted square-format for over 6 years......a TRUE emergency blip;-)

PS......believe me, living opposite a fire station isn't the quietest place to live and not just because of fire bells and sirens at all times of the day and night, there was also a flashing light/buzzer thingie outside my bedroom door that went off when my Dad was on-call overnight......come to think of it, that's probably the reason I can sleep through most things short of Armageddon these days;-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.