Autumn Dandelion With Bonus Butterfly

The verges leading into town are thick with golden yellow flowers, just like they are in the spring when the dandelions bloom en masse. These members of the same family are not quite as robust. I thought they were hawkweeds and planned to prostrate myself on the verge at the bottom of our lane to capture the spectacle.

In the meantime Jazzy and I went bug hunting in our former car park. It was dull, cold, and windy and I was very surprised to find a common blue butterfly resting on one of these flowers. I have discovered that they're not hawkweeds but autumnal hawkbits, also known as autumn dandelions. :)

Jazz and I also found some interesting eggs on a grass stem that we will be keeping an eye on and I photographed my first red-legged, caterpillar-eating shieldbug, formerly know as the forest bug.   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.