madchickenwoman

By Madchickenwoman

Tea for 4!

Well a day of sleep gave me the energy for 2 little jaunts! today! First stop was The garden House with Colourful Mai! On the way we passed an elderly gentleman in shorts and vest top doing a run. I say run but it was more a running walk and Mai felt he should put some clothes on and just do a fast walk! The Garden House  had a plant sale and as members we had first dibs! I went for purple salvias and a yellow coreopsis as contrast, she went for Iris for the pond on her allotment! Next stop the TeaRoom! Really lovely cheese sandwiches with chutney - which upon asking was onion and pineapple - sweet and delicious! Luckily they were selling jars of it! We wandered round the walled garden and then back to the teashop for tea and cake. I totally confused the waitress by taking a piece of cake from the side, covered in clingfilm and with a price tag attached, which I had with the bottle of Elderflower I had not drunk at lunch! Mai realised they would not serve us now as they would think we had already been taken care of! Seems they had all being trying to work out who had served us back in the kitchen! They were most relieved when the situation was explained to them! I do like to make myself at home and spread a little bit of confusion when I can!
Next stop was home, drop off plants, grab 6 eggs, pick up Friend and head to Masako's for her open studio! Quick look round and then Masako called to us that tea was ready! So we all sat down and had a cream tea! Much discussion on whether it is jam or cream first, and I said jam, backed up with a research study by some university which proved due to viscousness jam then cream was most effective!! At the end of september she is off to Japan again, travelling around and 2 exhibitions - although she was born there she has lived in England since she came over by herself as a young woman. She is the gentlest, kindest, most peaceful and happy person I know! Wonderful sense of humour too! I first bought pottery from her in Tavistock market - a teapot! The last few years I've been able to buy her paintings - all flowers except one. This was little paper boats with candles floating out to sea, stars above - it made me think of my mum.  Masako had painted it in memory of a friend who had died from cancer - that made me burst immediately into tears! She was surprised I still wanted it! It sits on an old wooden chest  at the end of my bed - it makes me feel calm. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.