Crazy About Birds

By Kimb

Birds

A pair of Turkey Vultures - in honor of International Vulture Awareness Day - being overtaken by a helicopter. The helicopter was flying south across our path while we were out on our walk this morning. It overtook the birds and disappeared behind the trees. That's the top photo. We reached our turn around point, headed back home, and about 20 minutes later the helicopter came back. We were at the hayfield by this time, and it passed right near us, heading back north. So I snapped the second shot.

When I got home I saw that I could read the numbers on the helicopter very clearly so I googled it - as one does - and found that it belongs to the US Government. Homeland Security, in fact! How intriguing!

Edit - I forgot to mention! We leave tomorrow for two weeks at the beach. Heading to Chincoteague, Virginia for our annual end of Summer vacation. I'll be blipping - shorebirds! - but it's unlikely that there'll be an enormous amount of commenting. We'll see!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.