Colourless Morning

It was that time of the morning, just after the colours of sunrise left the sky but before the day's colour really arrived.  

The view out of the van doors when I opened them this morning.

A great day.  Slow morning started with sharing a pot of coffee with the 'neighbours' - a South African couple on the next camp site in their van.  Then I drove to Rabbit Island where I met up with friends to run our dogs.  That meant that V and I sat and chatted for an hour and a half while P chased the four dogs all over the mudflats and threw sticks and pinecones for them.

Jasper came home saturated, mud encrusted, and stinking of sea and slime, and totally tired.  I shut her outside while I unpacked the van, then gave her a bath.  I was still combing her out two hours later (great quiet time for us together) when friends arrived to visit.

It was wonderful to see M and D.  We chatted for a few hours and they have just left to head back to Christchurch.  I'm now going to whip up some tea (soup and toast is sounding easy) and then do the work that I've avoided all weekend! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.