madmac

By izzmac

Pot of Gold

On the way back from Crossfit Evolving (my gym) I spotted this rainbow and a sudden burst of sunshine lit up the Daniel Libeskind building of the London Metropolitan University. I remember when it was built in 2004 it was described as high art on a grotty street.

Daniel Libeskind is known for his dramatic, fractured and often controversial work but I love this explosion of steel clad walls and jagged windows that just shatters into life. Its a landmark for the entire Holloway Road which needs something as dramatic as this to break up the busy thoroughfare and uninspiring edifices.

I love the fact that the guy behind the development of Ground Zero, The Jewish Museum and countless other memorable buildings gave us these shards of joy which catch the sun from every angle and brighten up my journey up and down the street.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.