RV Sarsia

We took a trip over to Birkenhead today and spent a couple of hours wandering around the dockland. Such a fascinating place, many buildings in disrepair, some being renovated to make trendy appartments which will sell for a fortune. Many photo's taken today I wish I could show you them

I've decided on this shot today, so sad to see her lying here, abandoned. She was a Marine Biological Research Vessel and came into service in 1953. Designed in Liverpool and built in Dartmouth, she was classed as a Motor Trawler and powered by diesel.

She made short trips and also went into deeper waters bringing back living animals.

The bow of RV Sarsia was featured on BBC Breakfast TV as part of the introduction to a business report from the Wirral.

I'm just waiting to hear from a guy who was the 1st Mate of the Sarsia for four years in the mid 70's, hopefully will be able to update soon

A great day, lovely weather. It was good to see the sun.

Called in to see mum and give her a nice warm fleece. She's very not my mum, and it's distressing to see her like this. She's worrying about everything, she's due to have a fasting blood test for her cholesterol and she doesn't want to have it. I think in the grand scheme of things that it isn't necessary for her to have this.

Short visits seem to be the order of the day, mum say's she is unwell everywhere and can't pinpoint where, her pain is being managed with morphine and can be adjusted when necessary. This is maintaining her mood and keeping her out of the hospital thank god. Dad is soldiering on bless him, I wish there was more I could do. I feel so helpless.
Dad seems to want to protect me, I think I'm big enough now to be able to deal with whatever life throws at me, then again. Once a parent always a parent.

Hope its been a sunny day where ever you are today x x

Edit Lost a subscriber today, must say I'm not surprised, I just can't get around to commenting on everyones journal.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.