LadyYakAlot

By LadyYakAlot

God the Lord of hosts is with us evermore!

Airshow Day again today, but this time with a difference. It was at our home airfield and was HobbyKing our sponsors day. HobbyKing manufacture remote controlled models – cars, drones & aircraft … including a model of our yak GBXJB! So most of the flying was done by the models today, apart from 3 full sized acts – Cub & Auster; Navion & Auster; Yak 52.
It was a busy day ferrying aircraft from Earls Colne and back again as Nigel was displaying 3 different aircraft … but I was glad to be ferry pilot in the Yak!  Once the HobbyKing day had ended it was back to Earls Colne in the Yak for me to get into a car and Nigel back in the Yak to display at a wedding in Essex.
It turned out to be quite an emotional day for me as I realised the next time I would see the Yak display would be at my wedding in 2 weeks’ time. They played music during the display and the first song was the Dambusters Theme … which happens to be the music for the 2nd hymn at my wedding as we are singing the words ‘God is my strength & refuge’ (RAF hymn!). Well that was enough to bring a tear to my eye … gosh better dig out my waterproof mascara!!
I know that not many people will know the words, but they will recognise the tune so should sing!!
God is our strength and refuge,
Our present help in trouble;
and we therefore will not fear,
though the earth should change!
Though mountains shake and tremble,
though swirling floods are raging,
God the Lord of hosts is with us evermore!
There is a flowing river,
Within God’s holy city;
God is in the midst of her -
she shall not be moved!
God’s help is swiftly given,
thrones vanish at his presence -
God the Lord of hosts is with us evermore!
Come, see the works of our maker,
learn of His deeds all powerful;
wars will cease across the world
when He shatters the spear!
Be still and know your creator,
uplift Him in the nations -
God the Lord of hosts is with us evermore!
We have a slight twist to our version as Sarah (from yesterday’s blip) has written a special 4th verse for us …. J

The photos today are not the best as I was trying to get both the aircraft and the people into the shot … and I couldn’t resist the sunset shot (even though you need a magnifying glass to see the yak!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.