matipac

By matipac

The Racecourse Ground

I travelled up to Wrexham today to fulfil my role as an external examiner at Glyndwr University. The main meeting is tomorrow morning but today I spent a few hours looking through a sample of student assignments. Right next to the University is Wrexham FC's home, the Racecourse Ground - or to use its official name, the Glyndwr University Racecourse Stadium. It's now owned by the University, I get that, but in my opinion no way is it a stadium, it's a football ground. Wembley is a stadium, West Ham's scandously acquired new home is a stadium, but the vast majority of football teams play at grounds, not stadiums. Calling them stadiums is one of many examples of how over-hyped football has become these day. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.