Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Tiny Flyer

Well, don't say you weren't warned.  I have every intention of blipping as many hummingbirds as I can before they are all gone for the season.  And, since the zinnias in my garden seem to be their current favorite nectar snack, you'll probably be seeing more hummie/zinnia photos.  

I'm tagging this for the Tiny Tuesday Challenge even though it's a bit of a stretch from a photographic standpoint.  I didn't take this with a macro lens, but with my Tamron 200-500 zoom.  However, hummingbirds certainly qualify as "tiny" being no bigger than an average female human thumb.  While I was standing next to the milkweed taking this shot, one flew up right next to me and I was reminded yet again of how incredibly small and fragile they are.  How on earth can they migrate all the way to Mexico/Central America...without a GPS?

Today was blisteringly hot again so I wilted pretty fast on my walk.  Not before I saw a huge pileated woodpecker being chased by a much smaller bird, though.  Very odd behavior since the breeding season is over and woodpeckers don't prey on other birds.  I couldn't make out what the smaller bird was, unfortunately, but I managed to get a shot with both birds in the frame.  It is posted along with three other shots from today, HERE on Flickr.

And, goodness - my little hummer from the 5th is still on the front page of Popular - thank you!!  My head may not fit through the door any longer...  

Tomorrow should cool off a bit. And maybe we'll even see some rain later in the week - that would be nice as it is very dry at the moment.  A few leaves are already starting to drift down from the trees ...the first small signs of fall, even though the colors haven't yet started to change.  

TTFN...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.