The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Forest fire

This morning was even foggier than yesterday, our house was wreathed in it at dawn.  Mornings like this are particularly exciting as the top of the Knott is often above the cloud inversion, and the sea of mist below becomes an ocean.  Today, as we climbed up to the top, the sun was cut in half like an orange as it rose through the cloud.

Fog was drifting amongst the trees, and these conditions can create a burst of rays through gaps in the foliage - and today they were particularly spectacular; and while the sun was still orangey, like a burst of fire (see extra photo).  

Just before this photo was taken, as I was changing lenses, a roe deer bounced across in front of me.  I was even hoping for an appearance of the Arnside Bigfoot trotting through the trees.  This will have to do.

Thank you for all the stars, hearts and comments for yesterday's - I'm sorry I'm so behind with replies.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.