History Repeating Itself

Youngest has embarked upon her final year of school and the other day asked me to buy her a couple of history textbooks.

When I was going through the checkout of that well known online retailer, the page told me that I had already purchased this item 5 years ago.

Oh, that must have been for middle daughter when she studied A level history. And so we began a long search in cupboards, under beds, more cupboards and finally the loft in order to save £13.99.

The search was futile.

So I had to buy the same book again and therefore proved the point that history does really repeat itself but with a huge amount of inflation. It cost £10 when I bought it the first time :(

It arrived today. At least this covers the period before I was born. The other book she needed covered Russia up to 1991.

1991? That's not history surely? That was only a couple of years ago. I'm not old enough to remember history.

Am I?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.