IntothewildMan

By IntothewildMan

Hay Cut

The meadow has just had its yearly hay cut. We need a few warm days for it to dry out; the next couple of days are looking good though some rain is forecast for Saturday. In a way I love this time of year. I can still remember how it was at my primary school when we used to have the old harvest festival, making up boxes of fruit and vegetables for the elderly people in the village and singing all of my favourite hymns, especially "We Plough the Fields and Scatter". 
On the other hand I can't get away from a slight feeling of melancholy; the summer is over and autumn is well on the way. It's almost the end of another season of growth. I love winter too: open fires, long evenings, getting snug, time to read and reflect more. It is just the transition that stirs me up...

I have left the comments off for a little while. I am finding it impossible to keep up with reading and commenting on everyone's journals just now, back in a bit hopefully. I will continue to blip but it may be rather sporadic for some time!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.