Last mullien

Although not growing straight and upright because it started under the rose bushes, this curved mullien still has blooms on its very tip.
The story I have been told is that some Bavarian farmer says we will know the kind of winter we will have by how the mullien looked on 15 Aug. I missed that date. Since this particular plant is behind all the others, perhaps I will still find out.
Alas, I do not speak Bavarian and do not really know what I am looking for (George?). There are many other indications people around here are talking about that we may have at least as harsh a winter as last year. Ugh!
Whatever... we will just take what comes...
It is a beautiful slightly too warm hot day. But the days will now get better and better as we fall into autumn.
School started again today. Poor kids & teachers in their not a/c classrooms. So glad I am retired!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.