Backbiters

When I heard on the radio about Sanofi-Pasteur and their intention to stop making anti-snake venom which saves thousands of lives in sub-Saharan Africa, I decided I had to shout.

Not just overseas. Over the last couple of decades or so, major Pharma companies have stopped making important drugs because they are too small beer in terms of profit or quantities used.

The big problem is that some years ago, drug companies were obliged to re-apply for European Medicines Licences with the formation of the European Medicines Agency. Often products that provided significant patient benefit were just simply withdrawn.

Now, what happens if one of those products is really life-enhancing - or even life-saving? In come the sharks; small companies with lower overheads who start making them at vastly inflated cost - to you and me, Dear Tax-payer.

Or we have to import them from overseas if they are still made elsewhere in the world; again through costly importing companies.

It makes me really mad and no-one is jumping up and down about it. Certainly not bringing it to public attention. I may just put a freedom of information request to the NHS purchasing authority...

This historical image? Just reminding me that good governance of the public purse has always been expected of my profession. When our hands are not tied.

P.S. We're off to Northumbria for a week or so. If I spot Joe Tree trying to cross into England, or selling the Big Issue in Alnwick, I'll give him your regards. See yer.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.