Enjoying the sun

I went to Maplin this morning. I'm allowed in there because I can speak a wee bit of techie but it's still a daunting task. I have a theory that the geeks who work for Maplin are there because they are too frightened of girls to work at PC World - or at least the old style PC World where they sold PCs and actually knew something about them. Maplin staff are simply incredible and able to determine what a customer needs and find it in their Aladdin's cave which is brimming with cables and components and things that flash and things that beep and things that simply look spectacular. I'm a grown-up and legally allowed to buy booze and fags but I was still questioned when I took my purchase to the counter. I had to confirm that I knew that I had a USB 2.0 male A to Male A cable. I duly confirmed this. I was then questioned about the intended usage before I was allowed to complete the transaction. I didn't feel patronised but was genuinely impressed that rather than just take the brass they wanted to make sure that a customer had the right bit of kit for the job.  

Then to Riverside Country Park where I saw a kestrel and egret and starlings and gulls and enjoyed the wonderful weather.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.