Driving north

The morning was spent in a meeting (much better than yesterday morning's!) and then I set off northwards. After about four hours I got bored with the M1/A1, as you do, and couldn't resist the lure of the A68. It was a glorious three hour drive in bright sunshine from Darlington up to Edinburgh; there was very little traffic. At a couple of points I could see almost a mile in each direction (due to excellent road-making of the Romans) with no vehicles in sight.

It was great to get home and see Mr H; although it won't be long before I have to leave again!

Edit: I later remembered that at some point on my journey I'd seen what must have been the Olympic Torch convoy heading in the opposite direction - must have been on the A1(M) somewhere near Wetherby, heading south, towards York perhaps. It didn't look the same without Scobes, though.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.