Country walk

Friday 11th September 2015 (1112)

Supposed to be a day off and I was looking forward to a relaxed day out on a walk with no time pressure. Things changed and I had to be on duty from mid-afternoon so ...

... an early start so I could get out on the walk. I needed to plan the group walk ready for beginning of October. I had a walk planned out which I got from a book but I wasn't sure whether it was going to be suitable, only way was to try it as I didn't think I had time to look for another. I travelled to the start of the walk and came across the first problem, nowhere to park. I would have struggled with one car let alone the few needed for the walk. I searched a few possibles along the route but nowhere suitable. As I wasn't sure about the walk anyway I decided to abandon it. Trouble is, I didn't have anything else planned so I had to return home. 

Got a few books out but nothing suitable near enough to home. Plotted one on the map but decided it wasn't long enough. Eventually ditched the walking books and made one up from some of my own local knowledge and view of the map, from Appley Bridge. By the time I got back out to the start of the walk it was 11am, hardly an early start!

I did the 4.2 mile walk quite fast. Took a wrong turn at one point and had to back track as I was making that bit up on small paths through the woods rather than a waymarked footpath. Had to find a diversion later on the walk as someone has built a housing estate on the footpath and nothing was marked! I was very pleased with the walk when I'd sorted the route so thankfully October's is now planned. 

Just had enough time to do the shopping on the way home before needing to be back. Visits now complete, just have quite a few things to sort ready for the weekend, a full weekend ahead!    

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.