Chilean Flamingo at Durrell

As we're on holiday for this week and next we decided we'd do some touristy things. Today we went to Durrell Wildlife Park a wonderful conservation trust set up by Gerald Durrell many years ago. We haven't been for a few years so it was really nice to discover new animals and new enclosures. I took over 500 photos and so of course it's been extremely hard whittling it down to just one.
I've chosen the Chilean Flamingo as I liked the colour of the feathers and because we had a very interesting chat with an elderly volunteer who had just fed them. Apparently they are the most pink of flamingos, even compared to the ones found in The Camargue in France.
I've made an album on Flickr of my favourites from today if you want to take a look.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.