Arachne

By Arachne

In water

One of the many ways in which I am privileged is to live near an outdoor swimming pool. Most years I buy a season ticket when it opens in May then, morning after morning, swim as far as I can before I have to leave for work. This year, with the weather so dismal, I've barely given it a thought. Since the pool is heated, and since I like swimming in rain, this is foolish.

Today the sun challenged me out of bed quite a bit earlier than usual and I remembered swimming. After so long away I didn't think I'd be up to much but I was at the pool as it opened. By four lengths I was out of breath, as forgotten muscles demanded oxygen in return for being woken from a very long sleep. After nine lengths my body began to remember what it was doing. At 16 lengths I felt I could go on for ever.

So swimming a kilometre was today's reason for being late for work.

Then after work some of my other muscles got their turn as Bundle and I took our cameras for a walk in the evening sun. This is a picture I've been failing to take for a long time because usually when the light is OK the punts are out. Not this evening.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.