Baby Herkules

My cousins Greek tortoises had a baby:
This is Herkules. He is one month old today. He weighs 10 g and is about 3 cm in diameter.

There are three adult Greek tortoises in my cousins household. Nobody knew anything about their family planning. My cousin had no plans on breeding. One day this summer she found 3 eggs between some rocks in their outdoor playground, got advice how to handle them and what came out is little Herkules.
Two more eggs are still in the incubator, but I don't think there will be more babies (my cousin has not given up hope yet).

We don't know which of the three adults is Mom or Dad.
The little one is really cute, but was sleeping in his cradle when I visited and of course we didn't wake him up. Tried to get as close as possible with the camera.

23:10; 9,5°C

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.