The Travellist's journal

By TheTravellist

District 1 in the evening sun

I went to Bánh Mì Huỳnh Hoa, apparently the most popular and famous bánh mì vendor in Saigon. It was about 3pm, so not during the busiest times, yet there was still a long wait. There were about 4 members of staff all working incredibly fast but most customers (who were all Vietnamese) were ordering enough for their family. At 32,000d (just under £1), it's around double the twice of an average bánh mì but it also had double the meat. I've had so many during my time in Vietnam, so I can't be sure it was the very best but it was definitely amazing and I plan on going back. I've added an extra photo of the stall and the massive amounts of different meats.

From there I went to the Talking with the Tourist group again. They had moved slightly due to a festival being set up in the park with lots of traditional dances and international food stands. I walked around the park and chatted to some of the members of the group. There I met a girl from Germany and we went for a drink at my favourite rooftop bar. Previously I've only been there at night, so I was glad to see this glorious view in the evening sunlight.

By the time we walked back to the park, the festival had started and we walked around before choosing to have a bánh xèo pancake for dinner. I drove back to my room and worked until late.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.