Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Setting up

We were singing with our quartet, the St Maura Singers, in the little Pisky church in Bridge of Weir this evening. Part of a triple linked charge, they were having a festival and wanted a concert - and somehow, by the miracle of the Scottish Episcopal Church jungle drums, we became that concert.

It was a good evening - the church was packed, so that they were hauling out extra chairs just before we were due to begin, and everyone seemed to enjoy the music, judging from the enthusiastic comments afterwards. But what a difference acoustics can make!  St Mary's is a small church, with a fairly low roof and roughcast walls, and it felt like singing in a room. Apparently it's good for speech - but the experience of worshipping in such close-range surroundings would have an effect on so much that I hold dear that I don't know how I'd manage. 

I reckon I've been lucky in the churches I tend to frequent - high roofs, draughts and all. Lovely people, though ... and suicidally difficult parking!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.