Petit Bot Bay

Today was a bit different. We knew it was going to be nice and after a certain amount of dithering on my part we booked up to try sea-kayaking. I didn't take my camera on the kayak so I've not pictures of the event but this picture was taken when we returned from the trip, and shows Petit Bot Bay with a lot less water in than when we left. Our guide/instructor told us there was a 10 metre tidal range, which is rather a lot.

Interesting coincidence, as we were waiting for someone to come out of a sea cave I passed a comment about the pink granite rocks, and our guide made a comments about the colour being quite red/orange rather than pink. I said it reminded me of home (i.e. Lancashire) and he asked where that was. I said Hampshire now days but I really meant Lancashire, to which he asked which bit as he was also a Lancastrian. So I said East Lancashire, and then he said which bit, so I said Rossendale and then he volunteered he was from Bacup! Spooky to find someone from your home town while bobbing up and down of the souther coast of Guernsey!

When then cycled back to base for lunch and then half way round the island on a glorious afternoon!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.