Crazy About Birds

By Kimb

Osprey With Fish

Not a squirrel (weirdly, I haven't seen a single squirrel since we've been here), nor a flower. But, it's an OSPREY!!

There was a lot of Osprey action along the shore this morning. In fact every time we've been to the beach in the morning there have been Ospreys fishing. This one caught a nice fish and was holding it in the one *handed* casual hold. I love watching them plummet into the water and come up with a fish. Amazing birds. I presume these guys will be leaving soon to head south - I wonder if these aren't this year's juveniles hanging around after their parents have already departed? I really don't know when their migration begins, but I would assume soonish. Or, some of these could be birds that are already migrating - coming from further north and stopping off here on their way to South America. Who knows? Not me, that's for sure.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.