TucsonJim

By BikerJim

~Goin' To Seed~

~Mexican Red Bird of Paradise~
~Caesalpinia pulcherrima~


Some common names for this desert plant include Poinciana, Peacock Flower, Red Bird of Paradise, Mexican Bird of Paradise, Dwarf Poinciana, Pride of Barbados, and Flamboyan-de-Jardin. I don't know what the interpretation of the last one is, but I think I like the sound of it the best for this flower!

A true joy to behold when in bloom, one plant can get as many as fifty or more of these clusters at this time of year. And they say the Sonora Desert is dry, arid and lifeless, "Balderdash I say!"

That all for tonight folks, I'm leaving for the California coast the day after tomorrow, by way of Ol' no.9! So as my grandfather use to say, "Stop meandering boy, your trading daylight for darkness!"

I will be posting from home tomorrow night, and then I'll be uploading my images from the road for about 10 days. Being on the road on the motorcycle is my life, always has been, always will be, God willing ;o)

Thanks for looking in on BikerJim!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.