Large Sand Plover

This morning the sunrise was hidden by cloud and the high tide first thing in the morning, meant little of interest would be seen with a pre breakfast run. So I deferred my exercise until after I'd finished reading the agenda papers for Tuesday. 

At the southern end of Snells Beach I saw many kotare (kingfishers). They did keep moving about, but I feel pretty sure there were at least 10 in this relatively small area. With few other birds to be seen, and the sky grey, I spent some time trying for a clear and crisp photo.

As I turned away to head around the point to Fidelis Bay, I saw this bird some distance away at the edge of the receding tide. Taller than a dotterell, yet it moved like one. The beak is longer than that of the New Zealand Dotterell (Tuturiwhatu). The colouring of the head is also subtly different, and there is no clear neck band. 

Consequently, I have identified it (with moderate certainty) as the Large Sand Plover. It is also known as the Greater (or Large) Sand Dotterell. It is termed a rare vagrant from Siberia. From what I have read, it would seem that this is a male which has overwintered here rather than returning to Siberia.

Unless corrected in my identification of it, this bird is the 55th species seen, identified and photographed in 2015.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.