aharr1cd

By aharr1cd

The old prison gates

My son Thomas needed some new trainers, so it was off to JD sports in Solihull Touchwood, I took the opportunity to park at the council house where I use to work and £2:30 later, which is another benefit working in Derby (free parking).

Tom finally found the trainers he liked and on his third attempt the shop assistant found a size 5, on the way back to the car. I took this blip of the trade men's entrance to my old place of work at the council house, it hasn't changed in nearly seventeen years, the front of the building is far nicer and was revamped when touchwood was built.

I now work next to the Derby Gail's where between 1730 and 1832 there were in excess of 260 crimes which carried the death penalty. This was known as the “Bloody Code” and offences ranged from being seen in the street with a sooty face, stealing anything valued in excess of 4s 6d (twenty two and a half pence), damaging fishponds, writing a threatening letter etc; right through to Murder, Treason, Piracy and Arson in His Majesty’s Ship’s Dockyard. Needless to say, everyday life for most people was hard and unrelenting. Employment was difficult to obtain and the pay very meagre. Therefore, to subsidise their existence, resorting to theft was the last, desperate option open to many to provide food for themselves and their families.

When walking back from the pub most Friday's and glance at the gates to the gaols and it reminds me how lucky I am, in so many ways.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.