Roadrunner

"The greater roadrunner (Geococcyx californianus) is a long-legged bird in the cuckoo family, Cuculidae, from Southwestern United States and Mexico. The Latin name means "Californian earth-cuckoo".
A bird born to run, the Greater Roadrunner can outrace a human, kill a rattlesnake, and thrive in the harsh landscapes of the Desert Southwest.
Some Pueblo Indian tribes, such as the Hopi, believed that the Roadrunner provided protection against evil spirits. In Mexico, some said it brought babies, as the white stork was said to in Europe. Some Anglo frontier people believed roadrunners led lost people to trails."

Long day.
I went to the park late afternoon with my camera while Boone went for his walk. Frustrating for me.
I sat by one of the lakes and watched, from a distance, as this roadrunner took a drink. Something frightened him into running toward me and jumping up on a branch in front of me.
I was so surprised I almost forgot to take a photo. :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.