Looks Good To Me

By Pilipo

Unwelcome Guests

It's been three years since I put up my flicker nesting box, and it still hasn't been occupied -- by a flicker -- although one did show some interest in it two years ago.

I was out mowing the lawn this afternoon and decided to check the box. I removed the roof, put it aside, and checked that the wood shavings inside were dry. When I went to replace the roof, this is what I saw. Luckily, the cooler temperatures had made the wasps lethargic, and I shook them off onto the lawn.

When I showed the nests to Cynthia, she asked me to remove them for her to keep. I took the roof into my shop and  found a couple more wasps hiding under the nests -- see extra photo. These were also easily dealt with.

I'm glad I didn't check the nesting box earlier this year!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.