Nuthatch

We arrived at my cousins  Albert and Popsy's wonderfully rural cottage near Stroud in the Cotswolds late Friday (9/11) by rail from Oxford.  The next morning I spent nearly two hours at their feeders with my camera.
[Added much later: We sat with Albert's family and friends as [b]Jeremy Corbyn[/b] was elected Labour Leader.]  The usual birds were at the feeder, among which this nuthatch was the most striking.  He appeared just a few times, always flying directly to the peanut feeder in lieu of the perches I'd set up (and which all the other birds used).  This is the  Eurasian Nuthatch--Europe's only nutchatch.  There are over a dozen nuthatch species (in the genus Sitta) worldwide, of which four (I think) occur in North America.

The last two days have been busy. I backblipped this on 9/14 from Bath (where we arrived yesterday). I hope to catch up by this evening.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.