There Must Be Magic

By GirlWithACamera

Lotus Blossom, 1 of 2: Great Expectations

I just can't help myself: I am drawn to the Arboretum several times a week now that we're heading into summer. There is so much going on, so much to see.

On this morning, I walked through the pollinator garden, a half-dozen goldfinches scattering around me and ahead of me like flashes of light, finally settling to snack enthusiastically on some purple flowers.

I love being the first one in the gardens in the morning; they are full of magic and mystery. All around me beauty. A song sparrow was trilling its morning song just above my head. It had so much to say about the glory and promise of the coming day, and it told it with such enthusiasm that I couldn't help listening in, agreeing: Yes, oh, YES!

But of course my very favorite part of the Arboretum is the lily pond, where I've found a waterland of endless enchantment: the flowers, the reflections, the dragonflies.

Then I saw this lotus blossom in the middle of the lily pond, looking just absolutely ready to burst! I couldn't resist a few photos.

I knew it would be blooming soon, but I wasn't sure how soon, so I resolved to visit the lily pond every morning until it did . . .

And tune in tomorrow for Lotus Blossom, 2 of 2. Guess what happens next! :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.