madchickenwoman

By Madchickenwoman

Outside Only!

Would you believe today I overslept  when I needed to be up and out? Ok in truth I ignored the  alarm for 5 more minutes snooze and of course fell asleep for another hour! So dashed up to the allotment and let the girls out then poo picked the coop - I just couldn't leave it even though it could have been left, but if noone poo picks between now and wednesday it would become really rank, and you and I know no one else is going to do it! 
After this into Plymouth for cars MOT. I could not believe the courtesy car they wanted to give me - it was the size of a tank! I couldn't even see over the top and needed a leg up to even climb into it - ok I exaggerate but you get the picture! Although I have driven a minibus I just didn't fancy driving it out of Plymouth, particularly as it was raining and there had already been a major accident on the A38. After sitting in it and realising I could hardly see over the bonnet I told the man I was a short arse  and it was way too big for me - I would be stopped as the police would think a child was driving it!! The car I should have had was stuck in the accident traffic but should be arriving at some point, so as the friend I was seeing lived across the road I decided to wait with her until it arrived! 
I was meeting my smoking in the woods buddy,  who worked in my class for many years and as she has now dropped a day we can be ladies who lunch! When I arrived my coat was soaked on the back and so was my cardigan, so a hair dryer for the coat and tumble dryer for the cardigan - but disaster! My lovely new coats colour had run all the way through  to my gorgeous pale dove grey top!!  Had only just found it again when moving my piles of ironing as part of my tidy up for  AH14!  
Anyhow - we decided to go into Plymouth by bus, just as we decided the garage rang to say my smaller car had arrived! But I was looking forward to the bus ride as I rarely if ever take the bus! It is just such a different view from a bus, and I love watching the other people! Once in Plymouth straight to coffee shop, then the Mall, stopping to take photos of a sculpture outside. Inside discovered a danish Shop called Tiger , what a fantastic emporium of wondrous things! Good job you can't buy online or I would spend loads! As it was I picked up quite a few items - no where near as many as I would have if I was still working mind you, as lots of useful sensory / topic things! Check it out at tigerstores.co.uk  to see if there is a shop near you! 
Disaster no2 then occured - taking photographs a mall security guard approached me to inform me no photography was allowed as it was a private space! Much discussion on why and how I could get a permit to photograph on another occasion! Luckily I had already taken what turned out to be my blip - Ha! Seems very odd I could take photos outside of people who may have been inside, not that I do people and the fact this person was on the walkway was chance, and he is not identifiable so I don't see a problem? Also why should a photo of a shop sign be banned - surely its free advertising for them? Will have to read up on this and see what other rules I have been / can break!!
We then went through the old Plymouth pannier market - still going as it doesn't exactly compete with the mall! Fab veg and fish stalls, food sit up at the counter stalls, and trashy clothes stores! Plus full of miserable looking store holders and,  sadly for them, a lot of people with it would seem, mental health problems. One woman stood next to me as I was taking a photo saying "No problem" as it seemed I was in the way of the exit - which was huge and she could have gone round me, and it obviously was a problem to her! I apologised and moved anyway! 
Disaster no 3 ( You have probably guessed nothing was a real disaster today!) My ipod cradle, according to the technical people the garage called, never would connect to the car and was only playable through the speakers, not operated through the car like the radio. I assured them it once was and after the man gently said "I'm not being rude but let me explain it in simple terms" and said it was basically  auxiliary connected and worked like headphones,  I explained it was USB connected and definitely could be! Much egg on their faces and is to be tried again at a later date! 
Home via Wiatrose for colour run removal, which has reduced but not removed it, so second application in progress, think I will have to dye it a darker colour! Cuddles with Tilly, who is pining and has not eaten. Managed to tempt her with a Blackberry, but just the one. Tomorrow I will try the appetite restorer drops for ailing chickens and tempt her some more and keep her company - think another day alone in her coop is not a good idea for her - no Dartmoor walk for me again :-( 
I may post more photos from the day on Flickr tomorrow - or just retake some another day when I go in after getting a photography permit! Just want to see how it is given and ask more questions!! I did spot the security Guard as I left and went up to him and asked ifi could take his photo - he guessed i was joking and laughed!
P.S. Guy complimented me on my coat in the Thorntons shop where we had lunch and I was queuing for a espresso- I told him the whole story about the coat and said I bet he wished he'd never said anything - he said not at all, it was still a lovely colourful coat! It's the first time in a long time I felt a frisson for a man! He was just gorgeous looking and had such a gorgeous voice and manner of speaking,and seemed very nice -shame I spotted him with a woman as I was returning to my table!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.