Leaving the Dock

As we left the marina to go out crabbing, I saw this pair on the pier. I was happy to see the two so close to each other, but sad to see the big wound on the side of the Heron. The extra is a shot of the school or anchovies in the water beside the boat at the dock. The water was "boiling" with them; there were so many, they were jumping out of the water seemingly to avoid each other. Amazing.

The crabbing was pretty good, so we got our fill for lunch. Then I drove the couple I brought over to the beach, back to Portland! We had another very interesting conversation on the 2 hour trip back.

Thanks to all of you who toke the time trying to figure out what kind of moth I blipped yesterday, seems like it is still a puzzle. 

Later in the evening, someone who lives under the heron nests told me that there was a blood bath there when the Bald Eagles attacked the babies and probably killed them all. So, I am assuming that the heron was injured in one of those attacks.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.