... with one eye open.

By Chamaeleo

Egyptian Geese: London Gosling

I'm pleased with this photo: the red is the reflection of a double-decker London bus going past on the road adjacent to the pond. The only thing I've adjusted is the clarity/sharpness; the rest is as shot.

I took lots of photos on Clapham Common this afternoon: the weather was wonderful, and I photographed a remote-control helicopter (it was huge, and impressive to watch!), goslings, cootlings, moorhenlings, and a remote-control-helicopter-ling (the pilot had a little one too). The fishers are still down on the pond in force, despite it being a weekday (I was hoping that there'd be considerably fewer of them during the week, but there are only a few fewer...); the reduction in numbers did make it somewhat easier to photograph the birds.

Angel Wing is still out by himself; the others are roaming around the pond together, only rejoining the parents when they settle down to rest in a huddle. I think Angel Wing is now looking skinnier than the others; I hope that is a misconception. Today was the first time I heard any of the goslings make anything other than a cute little "peep" sound: one of them today made a honk/quack noise, which still didn't sound adult, but it was certainly a surprise compared to their usual cute peeping.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.