Speaking of Leaves...

Dear Diary,

Yesterday I spoke about being attracted to a tiny heart shaped morning glory leaf.  Today it is the turning grape leaves!  We are entering the "Time of the Leaf" here in Northern New England but most focus their leaf peeping activities on the reds, yellows and oranges of the Maple trees.  There is a wild grape vine at the corner of my property and although it doesn't produce many grapes its leaves are always so interesting in late September.

The grape leaves have such interesting patterns and colors.  I love how as each day passes the veins become more and more prominent.  And they are very large as well.  I've tried pressing some and they are quite pretty.  I had to stand on the edge of the road to photograph them and I'm sure the driver of the passing car thought it was strange...what in the world is she taking a picture of?

I get that a lot.  My camera's lens isn't always pointing at what others would deem a "worthy" subject.  I am attracted by quite ordinary and humble subjects.  I find them as beautiful, sometimes more beautiful, as the subjects that cause other people to grab their cameras.


There is only you and your camera. The limitations in your photography are in yourself, for what we see is what we are.

- Ernst Haas

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.