Just trying to survive

By NovaLovesFrogs

Another Gift From Logan

Remember when our truck gave me an old Honda key? Well, Logan (our truck) gave me another gift today.

Today is my twenty-sixth birthday.

While outside, I saw what looked like damaged insulation or wiring between the cab of the truck and the camper shell. I couldn't see it well or reach it (I'm far too short) so B reached up and got it.

It's just a stick, right?

Wrong.

It's a stick from the sycamore tree in my front yard in Missouri.

It made it over a thousand miles, through high winds and up and down mountains and through B driving to and from work for five days.

It's even sweeter when you know the full story of our journey up to Missouri. Logan broke down on the Kansas Turnpike, two hours away from Kansas City. We ended up stranded in Emporia for two days before our families (my step-dad and Incubator, B's grandfather) could rescue us. Our truck was towed the last leg of the journey behind Papa's 3500, with me driving my family's Venture behind with the hazards on, as the sun had bleached our truck's lights and you couldn't see the hazards on. From behind our truck, you couldn't even tell it was being towed. So I decided to play it safe and stay close with the Venture's hazards on.

It feels like a mixture between an apology and a birthday present.

Thank you for the present, Logan.

Anyways, I'm avoiding social media and my phone today. There are people in my life that like to be assholes on my birthday, so I avoid my phone and social media every year.

Tuxie Tuesday will resume on Thursday and Tuesdays following this. I also have a lot of Tuxie Tuesdays and Thursdays to backblip during my absence.

Have a good drink today for me.

Hope you all are doing well. Take care. Love you all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.