LIGHT ON PADDINGTON

I'm reading a book on Georgian London, and doing lots of cross referencing with my book of the history of London in maps (I love maps). Here's the site of my birthplace in 1834, about 11 years before the hospital (St Mary's in Paddington) was founded, four years before the first railway terminus was built there and 117 years before I was born. Just to the west were open fields and farmland.

I was somewhat taken aback to find that I wasn't mentioned in Wikipedia among the list of notable people born at St Mary's Hospital - an unfortunate omission, I feel - but discovered that I share my birthplace with Elvis Costello. (Also loads of royals, but they were born in the private wing and therefore don't count, and I definitely wasn't. I was born there because dad was a medical student and mum was a staff nurse at the hospital.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.