My trap just keeps on giving...

I had fully intended to blip something (anything) other than a moth today, but when I got a tentative id on this little beauty I couldn't resist blipping it! 
This naughty moth (it just wouldn't stay still) came to my trap 2 days ago, but It took till this evening for it to stay still long enough for a picture. 
I was anxious to wait to get a decent shot as it was a moth I had not seen before and I really wanted an id on it (and I have mislaid my moth books - again!).
I posted the picture on a moth id group on Face book and it seems it is a Blair's Mocha Cyclophora puppillaria,  which according to UK Moths 'is a continental species, and is only a rare immigrant to the British isles . 
There have been a hundred or so records since the first in 1946, most of which have occurred on the south coast' 
The person identifying it suggested I let the county recorder know......
The excitement begins again!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.