New Toaster

I bought a new toaster this morning. Well actually I HAD to buy a new toaster this morning having almost set the house on fire when my toast got stuck in the toaster last night and it set on fire.
I put the bread in as usual and then left the kitchen to do something else, when the next thing I knew the smoke alarms were screaming at me and there was thick smoke filling the kitchen.
I quickly located a tea towel and ran it under the tap, then squeezed it out before putting it over the flaming toaster. I then opened the windows and doors to let the smoke out which, by now, was so thick I couldn't see anything and it was becoming harder to breathe.
The toaster was too hot to pick up with my hands, so I felt around for the oven gloves. Having found them, I was then able to grab the toaster and put it outside the back door.
It took ages for the smoke to finally clear in the kitchen - thankfully no damage was done and the only casualties were one toaster and two slices of granary bread!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.