Growing old disgracefully

By GOD

Via Veritas Viva?

I've become increasingly fond of biennials in the last few years. Maybe it is because as I have become older I am more willing to defer gratification. I have been caring for these Sweet Williams for over a year; from planting the seeds, watering, thinning, weeding, protecting from slugs and storms, planting them out in one a chilly March day, more watering.... and here they are today, just beginning to open and display their gorgeous range of colours, from salmon pink to this incredible deep scarlet. The image looks PhotoShopped, but this is their genuine, unadulterated colour. I think this one is dianthus barbatus. It is about 60 cm tall, but I also have the dwarf variety. I went overboard on sweet William this year and the garden is thick with them and ooh, the scent...
To the University of Glasgow today for a conference. By midday I had had enough of poor acoustics and sitting on an uncomfortable seat - so being a free agent I released myself into the sunshine and treated myself to a glamorous coffee and sandwich on the way home. Now enjoying the lovely long evening light and wondering if this is the solstice or if that is tomorrow?

THREE GOOD THINGS
Meeting up with old friends and new
Glass of red wine in the garden with my favourite person
The incredible evening sky

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.