Journey 2 Ithaki

By spartan

My little Odyssey

...i had a very long day today, but i have not forgotten to not neglect myself and to do things that will heal my fragile Spartan body lately.

I woke up at 3, slept at 2:15, the birds would not let me sleep, ran on the moor and took some beautiful photos I think as I haven't managed seeing them yet, the reason I dropped my camera in the stream and it didnt only go in the water but it also streamlined into it so I had to dive down to grab it!

But that didn't dampen my mood and one of the things I did was to plan my next big challenge. I have postponed my other big
Challenge which is going around the coastline of the uk, yes the whole 7800 miles approximately by running, cycling and swimming unsupported. Decided that going away from home for 68 continuous days was not something that could happen this year.

So I planned a smaller challenge thus I am calling it my little Odyssey. A challenge that I will be planning for 2013. Briefly this are the stages

A. Row from Athens to Corsica
B. Hike the GR 20
C. Swim from Corsica to Monaco
D. Cycle through some beautiful countries to Calais
E. Swim the Channel
F. Cycle to Yorkshire to see my friends and family...and continue to...
G. Cycle to my old Homeland ...Scotland and Run from Edinburgh to my favourite East Lothian beach!!!
Last stage Celebrate!!!!!

Imagine all those blips from this challenge.

I have done the row from Athens to Corsica and many of the other stages. The story behind rowing from Athens to Corsica is briefly this ...I did this challenge just after my military service with the Greek Army. At that time I lost a very special person in my life, my granddad, the one that taught me to be adventurous and never stop exploring. One of my army friends, the son of a boat/rowing boat maker who I spoke to about wanting to row to Corsica and that was the right moment. This challenge comes with many stories and nice...... but I ll stop here for now, one day you will read about this as a chapter of possibly a book I have been writing for the last three years

So I will leave you today with the poem that changed my life, one of them, the one that my granddad read to me many times many many times. So close your eyes and listen to it Ithaca

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.