Portrait of a Sunflower Lover

I cannot begin to tell you how marvelous the weather has been these past few days. It's cool at night so that you almost think about a little jacket in the mornings. Then there is the dampness that sends dew to decorate every spider's web with sparkling  jewels and then rises into mist in the morning light. And it would break your heart to see the perfect, warm, blue-sky, sunny afternoons. It is fall in the mornings and summer in the afternoons. These days are gorgeous, and far too quickly gone.

The good news is that this wonderful weather makes me want to be OUT! And so I seize every opportunity I can get to go out and enjoy the day. (And I encourage you to do the same!) And this day had plenty of great moments. Let me begin by telling you about just two of them.

The sunflowers have burst into full bloom at the Arboretum, and I am visiting them every chance I get! In the morning, their golden powers draw me like a magic spell. I can't resist. I must visit them, and see how many more have opened every night. It turns out that I am not the ONLY sunflower lover; for the whole field is beloved by the bees, including this charming little fellow, whom I caught enjoying some morning snacks.

And then on to a SECOND wonderful moment. (You know, I think I could write a blog entirely about food, which is just one of my many life passions.) I met some dear friends at Duffy's Tavern in Boalsburg for lunch, for a little catch-up session and some delicious food. The company was grand, and the food was none too shabby either!

I ordered the French onion soup and a nice side salad with ranch. The soup was beautiful; even prettier than the last time I was there. I couldn't resist another photo of the soup, and you can see it in the extra photos area. (Shh - I know I am blowing all of my "extra photos" too quickly, but I can't help it!)

The song to accompany this blip is in honor of the pretty little bee who is a sunflower lover, like me. So here is Three Dog Night, with An Old Fashioned Love Song.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.